Skip to content
Interdisciplinary Studies Program  

China Symposium

Horizontal Divide

About the China Symposium 

This two-day symposium combines public lectures and faculty development workshops to introduce participants to the complexities of Chinese histories in global contexts. Lectures are open to the university and Asheville communities.  In addition to the public events, two special sessions will help a core group of UNC Asheville faculty design undergraduate courses with a focus on Chinese histories in global contexts.

Each year's Symposium is part of a three-year faculty and curriculum development initiative funded by a Title VI grant from the U.S. Department of Education and directed by the Asian Studies Development Program at the East-West Center in Honolulu, Hawaii. The project mission is to establish and accelerate the integrated development of undergraduate Chinese language and culture studies in a consortium comprising six universities and colleges, including UNC Asheville. The project responds to a common set of interrelated difficulties encountered in building new undergraduate international and area studies programs, in particular the need to simultaneously develop new language capacities, complementary humanities and social science curricula, and sustained faculty and student interest. In each year of the project, a team of 11 interdisciplinary faculty will engage in rigorous course-development activities and workshops.

2013 China Symposium: September 16, 2013
More about the 2013 China Symposium...


2012 China Symposium: Chinese Histories in Global Contexts, October 1-2, 2012
More about the 2012 China Symposium...
2012 China Symposium, from left: A packed house for Shana Brown's lecture; Shana Brown answers audience questions; Provost Jane Fernandes welcomes faculty and visitors to the 2012 China Symposium

2011 China Symposium: Chinese Culture and Humanities, November 7-8, 2011
More about the 2011 China Symposium...

Faculty and visitors at 2011 China Symposium.  Seated (left to right): Surain Subramaniam, Cindy Ho, Jinhua Li, Katherine Min. Standing (left to right): Leona Kanter (Mercer University), Grant Hardy, Heon Lee, Roger Ames, Lei Han, Stanley Murashige, Alex Huang, Charles McKnight, Peter Hershock.

UNC Asheville Team Members

The UNC Asheville team is composed of 11 faculty members from 10 different departments:

  • Surain Subramaniam, Interdisciplinary Studies, International Studies, Asian Studies (Campus Coordinator)
  • Jinhua Li, Interdisciplinary Studies, Asian Studies
  • Grant Hardy, History, Humanities
  • Lei Han, New Media
  • Cynthia Ho, Literature and Language
  • Katherine Zubko, Religious Studies
  • Charles McKnight, Music
  • Keya Maitra, Philosophy
  • Alex Huang, Atmospheric Science
  • Katherine Min, Literature and Language
  • Agya Boakye-Boaten, Africana Studies


Participating Institutions

The six participating universities and community colleges in the three-year consortium represent wide regional diversity among 6 states:

  • University of North Carolina, Asheville, NC
  • University of Texas at El Paso, TX
  • Johnson County Community College, KS
  • Portland Community College, Portland, OR
  • Middlesex Community College, MA
  • Mercer College, GA

For more information, please contact:
Surain Subramaniam

East West Center Logo

Horizontal Divide

Last edited by on October 20, 2013